Myths and Bloodstains


“I am deeply alarmed by the current escalation of violence
in and around Gaza. This is unacceptable.”
Ban Ki-moon, United Nations Secretary General
30 December 2008

“Israel has been supplying comprehensive humanitarian aid
to the Gaza Strip and has even been stepping this up by the day.”
Tzipi Livni, Israeli Foreign Minister
31 December 2008

It may be hard for anyone to imagine
I was once a little girl,
filling a small pot with handfuls
of moist soil, making room
for a fragile seedling.

Now I can’t remember
the last time I planted
something that took time
to grow.

Today I had someone do my fingers
after a cleansing.
The faintest hint
of pink, nothing darker.

Soon three more ministers
and a president will try
to give me a squeeze.
Like all others, their hands
will grow weak as I stand
on burgundy heels.
My firm smile alone
will make them squirm.

I wonder if I should put on
that elegant black suit
worn only once, next to Condee
Rice, a string of pearls
tracing the lines on my neck.
I would have preferred
a choker. Even so, I made her look
even smaller.

This pair of earrings,
twisted “O”s,
will make my hair seem
less stiff and straight.

Details are forever crucial.
I know.

-o-
Land Theft

Photo

About matangmanok

Jim Pascual Agustin writes and translates poetry. Sometimes he tries his hand at essays and stories. In 2011 the University of Santo Tomas Publishing House in Manila released BAHA-BAHAGDANG KARUPUKAN (poems in Filipino) and ALIEN TO ANY SKIN (poems in English). The same publisher released his most recent poetry collections SOUND BEFORE WATER and KALMOT NG PUSA SA TAGILIRAN. In 2015 a new poetry collection in English, A THOUSAND EYES was released. His first collection of short stories in Filipino, SANGA SA BASANG LUPA, was released in 2016. UK publisher The Onslaught Press launches his latest poetry collection, WINGS OF SMOKE, worldwide in February 2017. View all posts by matangmanok

2 responses to “Myths and Bloodstains

  • porchina

    Your political grasp is very weak, and you should probably stick to writing pretty poems.

    You seem like a very troubled man, I pity you.

  • matangmanok

    Hi Porchina, welcome.

    Thank you for taking time to visit this very young blog and sharing your opinion.

    I think “pity” is an interesting word. It reveals something about the one “showing” it – or in this case, saying it. The assumption of a higher position maybe?

    Perhaps you could share your “strong” political grasp so you might enlighten me? I wonder what made you regard me as a “troubled man” as well.

    Pretty poems are nice, aren’t they? Like ice cream on a hot summer’s day. Which ones did you find pretty in here? I’d love to know.

    I am all ears. Again, thank you and hope to hear from you soon.

Leave a Reply

