Full Moon at Dawn

Two days ago I was rushing the kids to school when everything stopped.

It was like all recent memory of hurrying things up – getting them dressed in their uniforms, helping with their hair, sorting out lunchboxes and their breakfast, breaking fights, calming the offended, and all other matters that accompany each insane weekday of having six-year-old twins – had suddenly been swept aside.

They stood frozen in front of the little gate facing west.  Sometimes they would do that when there’s an interesting bug or a spider or some other creature (not chameleons first thing in the morning, far too early for them) clinging to the cold metal latch.  But I looked and there was nothing there.  So I got a little cross.

“What??!?”  I said.

“The moon, daddy!” they both said, then went silent once again.

And there it was.  Close to the western horizon.  Silence struck me like it had them.

We were a little late getting to school.  But it was fine.  It was worth choosing wonder and awe over a few lost minutes.

It was good we didn’t manage to take a picture of that moment.  Yesterday I was ready with the camera, but it didn’t feel the same though it was of the same moon and taken at about the same time.

That photo does not capture anything really.  The size of the moon, the layers of colours that we had seen are not here.

2009 may to june digital pics low res mostly sky land etc 139

Some things are better kept in one’s memory.

About matangmanok

Jim Pascual Agustin writes and translates poetry. Sometimes he tries his hand at essays and stories. In 2011 the University of Santo Tomas Publishing House in Manila released BAHA-BAHAGDANG KARUPUKAN (poems in Filipino) and ALIEN TO ANY SKIN (poems in English). The same publisher released his most recent poetry collections SOUND BEFORE WATER and KALMOT NG PUSA SA TAGILIRAN. In 2015 a new poetry collection in English, A THOUSAND EYES was released. His first collection of short stories in Filipino, SANGA SA BASANG LUPA, was released in 2016. UK publisher The Onslaught Press launches his latest poetry collection, WINGS OF SMOKE, worldwide in February 2017. View all posts by matangmanok

4 responses to “Full Moon at Dawn

  • Missy

    What an absolutely glorious moment to share with us. I always love to know what is going on in other lands. We gaze at the same moon but from different angles so it’s lovely to hear about your view.

    I think this calls for a write by you regarding that experience.

    Re: Leapfrogs, Send me anything you want to know about. I’ll answer it. I’m seldom on Helium these days. I’ve been writing articles for other areas. I do stop by to rate a few so I can keep my account active. The thrill of Helium has long passed and my usefulness is gone as I refuse to steward anymore.

    IF ever you want to journey to the oasis please do. You are more than welcome and the feel and what is allowed is far better than Helium. Too we have color and have signatures :). Anyway Sufjan give it a thought okay. I’d like to see you wander over.

    Don’t be shy about sending me questions.

    Love to your family.

    Missy

    • matangmanok

      Missy, thanks. Maybe one day something will come out of the experience. One day.

      I had luck with the silly leapfrogs. Thanks for your help!

      I lost my way to the oasis. I think I will need some direction to get there again.

      Posted some more pictures of my world here. Hope you come back for a look.

      Jim (Sufjan sticks, doesn’t it?) 🙂

  • ecko

    I bet that was a sight to see 🙂 I once had the good fortune of seeing the moon set over the Atlantic ocean while out on it. What was most amazing about it was seeing the moonlight shimmer across the water. It was like watching a sunset at 2am. Out in the darkness of the Atlantic, the moon is so much brighter. I’m glad I didn’t get a picture of that either, I would have ruined living a moment by trying to capture it 🙂

    ecko.

    • matangmanok

      ecko (John),

      Yes it really was. Yours sounds like an awesome sight as well. So what were you doing there at that time? Something subversive? Or submersible? Hahahahaha.

      🙂

      Keep in touch!

      Jim

Leave a Reply

