No Apologies

F1020003I know, I’ve been posting stuff from other people recently.  I have been a bit busy sending manuscripts and writing new poems.

I have more work to be published in a forthcoming issue of GUD (Greatest Uncommon Denominator) Magazine – perhaps by sheer perseverance.  I bombarded them with over thirty poems, if I remember correctly, and they have been very kind and patient with me throughout the editorial process.

This has encouraged me to try out other literary magazines.  It is a tough world out there, but somehow it seems easier to swallow rejection slips over the internet than through snail mail.   And so I forge on, sending these messages in fragile bottles.

Imagine me on a beach full of stranded bottles, each one with a poem.  I should go into the recycling business.

About matangmanok

Jim Pascual Agustin writes and translates poetry. Sometimes he tries his hand at essays and stories. In 2011 the University of Santo Tomas Publishing House in Manila released BAHA-BAHAGDANG KARUPUKAN (poems in Filipino) and ALIEN TO ANY SKIN (poems in English). The same publisher released his most recent poetry collections SOUND BEFORE WATER and KALMOT NG PUSA SA TAGILIRAN. In 2015 a new poetry collection in English, A THOUSAND EYES was released. His first collection of short stories in Filipino, SANGA SA BASANG LUPA, was released in 2016. UK publisher The Onslaught Press launches his latest poetry collection, WINGS OF SMOKE, worldwide in February 2017. View all posts by matangmanok

6 responses to “No Apologies

  • Missy

    Keep on keeping on though!! It’s the busy ant who has his storehouses full!! 🙂

    • matangmanok

      Missy, ever supportive Missy, thank you very much for this. 🙂
      If you have a good look at that beach photo you will see me – camouflaged as a monkey.

  • ecko

    Jim,

    I commend you for your persistence and am excited that you’re pursuing other magazines. I am sure this will pay off for you. What I do is create images for mediocre poems and it is those images that impress more than the poetry, you however create images through well thought out poetry that does not waste a word. That is a craft to be appreciated. As I’m sure these mags are finally realizing 🙂

    John

  • matangmanok

    Hey there John!

    Thanks for the show of support. Means a lot in this rather lonely endeavor. I doubt very much about “pay off” though. Hahahahaha.

    Yours, my friend, are not mediocre poems. Whoever gave you that idea? No more talk of that please. Anyway, thanks for the praise but I will not allow you to sell yourself cheap. Even as I say that poetry does not pay — unless of course if you’re in Poland and have an appreciative and literate audience (like Wislawa Szymborska http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Wislawa_Szymborska).

    I am fortunate enough at least to have people like you and Missy who keep me company – even from a great distance – on this road.

    Jim

  • Jie-Shi

    I read some of your poems again this morning, there is real talent and I am sure I am not alone in seeing that. But, life can be a horrible place. Nevertheless, do what Missy said: “Keep on keeping on though!!” Later. J

Leave a Reply

