Alarm Call

2009 jan to 04march kids, spider, batik, videos, etc 036

Today I got an alarm call.  With the successive late nights I’ve had my system finally crashed.  Well, I nearly crashed.  I was driving with the kids in the back and for a few seconds I was out — the next moment I opened my eyes I was on the wrong side of the road and about to hit a pole!  I got a huge fright and swerved back in my lane.  The kids asked “Why did you go ‘Aaaah!’ Daddy?”  They didn’t notice that I had briefly dozed off.

Luckily I had already gotten off the highway when this happened, and was moving at less than 20 kph (I think).  We were by then on a quiet road a few blocks from home, before the paved road ends and our miserable dirt road starts.  Because it is a partly rural area where we live, there are usually very few road users.

I use the term “road users” here not just for people or the usual dog or cat.  It includes the odd trotting horse (with or without a rider), pet sheep, goat, bunny and occasionally a splendid peacock and his harem of peahens (think of The Muppets’ Gonzo and his chickens).

Oh, I should add a pair of llamas to that list.  Some enterprising neighbour has them for the valued fur.  They seem too smart for him though and have escaped at least twice from his flimsy fence.

Moral of the story:  sleep at home.  Errr… or is that drink lots and lots of coffee?  Hmmm, somebody has to help me here.

About matangmanok

Jim Pascual Agustin writes and translates poetry. Sometimes he tries his hand at essays and stories. In 2011 the University of Santo Tomas Publishing House in Manila released BAHA-BAHAGDANG KARUPUKAN (poems in Filipino) and ALIEN TO ANY SKIN (poems in English). The same publisher released his most recent poetry collections SOUND BEFORE WATER and KALMOT NG PUSA SA TAGILIRAN. In 2015 a new poetry collection in English, A THOUSAND EYES was released. His first collection of short stories in Filipino, SANGA SA BASANG LUPA, was released in 2016. UK publisher The Onslaught Press launches his latest poetry collection, WINGS OF SMOKE, worldwide in February 2017. View all posts by matangmanok

5 responses to “Alarm Call

  • Missy

    Jim LOL I’m sorry, not laughing at the situation, but envisioning your rural traffic as it speeds along the road.. You know the llamas, rabbits, peacock and so forth. Almost sounds like the country around here. Tons of dirts roads and the occasional horse through town, sheep and cattle lol… I suppose as long as they aren’t behind the wheels it’s okay.

    Yes, tons of coffee, no more sleep driving for you young man!!!

    (_______)C there ya go coffee on the run.

    • matangmanok

      Missy, glad I made you laugh. My laughing instincts did not kick in at the time though. So I had to insert that in here. 😛

      Hope you are well.

  • matangmanok

    Oh, Missy, that cup was lovely. Thank you. Wondering if there was a muffin or slice of cake that goes with that. I promise not to have it while I’m driving!

  • Melissa

    I need to send you some of these coffee candies from around these parts. Quick caffeine on the run.

  • matangmanok

    Caffeine on the run sounds good, would love to try those candies – just scared what it might do to my heart. I’ve cut down my coffee a lot recently.

Leave a Reply

