No Longer Mine

I got word yesterday that Baha-bahagdang Karupukan should be leaving the doors of the printers sometime this month.  Alien to Any Skin should follow soon after that.  I am excited, terrified, and a little sad.  Finally they are going to brave the world which brings a sense of worry not that different from a parent with a child opening the gate on his/her own.  Sad, well, I am not physically there to open the first bundle, turn the cover, feel the paper between my fingers, sense the reality that my work is no longer just mine.

Joanna Ruiz designed the cover.  The spikes are that of a Brazilian Kapok tree.

cover for Alien to Any Skin John Marin Flores made magic with a photograph from his portfolio.

A million thanks to Jing Hidalgo and Sam Macaisa of UST Publishing House for all their kind support and endless patience.

Now I need to find my salesman’s hat.  Or, as a good friend warned, these pages might end up as cockroach fodder.

About matangmanok

Jim Pascual Agustin writes and translates poetry. Sometimes he tries his hand at essays and stories. In 2011 the University of Santo Tomas Publishing House in Manila released BAHA-BAHAGDANG KARUPUKAN (poems in Filipino) and ALIEN TO ANY SKIN (poems in English). The same publisher released his most recent poetry collections SOUND BEFORE WATER and KALMOT NG PUSA SA TAGILIRAN. In 2015 a new poetry collection in English, A THOUSAND EYES was released. His first collection of short stories in Filipino, SANGA SA BASANG LUPA, was released in 2016. UK publisher The Onslaught Press launches his latest poetry collection, WINGS OF SMOKE, worldwide in February 2017. View all posts by matangmanok

6 responses to “No Longer Mine

  • Secretlee

    YOU WENT WITH SERIAL KILLER HOUSE!!!!! hahaha. oh well. Wishing you all the best anyway! 🙂

  • matangmanok

    🙂 Indeed I bloody did (wrings serial killer hands, muffled screams in the distance). MWAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA

  • Missy

    Jim I’m very proud of you. Persistence and hard work always pays off in the end. When these get out let me know and I’ll come back a url to post on my poetry blog.

    Way to go boyo.

    Missy

    • matangmanok

      Hi Missy, thank you very much. I think it is more stubbornness than persistence. hahahahahaha. I appreciate and will definitely take the offer. Anything else you can think of please just tell me. Being away from my own books is a weird thing. Not quite sure how to deal with it all.

  • ecko

    Jim,
    Congratulations!!! I am excited for you. Well done and well deserved 🙂

    • matangmanok

      Scott!!!! Thank you!!!! I wish you could hear me shout that as loud as I can.

      It is a bit strange for me.

      Keep well. And keep in touch!

Leave a Reply

