2@42

I turn 42 only once, and I doubt I’ll ever have two books released at the same time again, so this is just to mark a day when friends new and from a while back might want to spend some time with my work, if not with me, online. This is my way of getting around the barriers of time (six hours behind my motherland the Philippines!) and space (I’m still in Cape Town, South Africa and my teleporter is not yet fully functional!).

There are amateur blogs (put up by yours truly) for each book with links to Scribd.com where the sample pages are up for browsing. I intend to post some audio clips of my Kermit-like voice (might actually be closer to a Miss Piggy voice) during the course of the month just to make you guys laugh. Visit the blogs and listen at your own peril.

If you are lucky enough (not begging here, ok?) to have already got yourself copies of the books and found some poems that made a connection – even if it was just a YIKES! or OOOH THAT WAS BAD! or EH, ANO BA ANG PINAGSASABI NI JIM DITO? or perhaps anything a bit more positive – then please feel free to post a comment on the relevant book’s blog.

I am also opening the door for the more visually or musically creative friends I have met to make their own interpretation(s) of any of my poems – a short video, a visual poetry rendition, a sketch, a spoof, a song, an opera (hahaha) anything at all.  I know it’s not a lot of time, and maybe people won’t even bother to pitch up (pitch in?), but hey, it’s worth a shot.

You may participate via the following or on Facebook. You don’t have to wait for the 31st of March to take part, and it certainly does not have to end on the same day.

http://www.alientoanyskin.wordpress.com

http://www.karupukan.wordpress.com

skype & ym: matangmanok

About matangmanok

Jim Pascual Agustin writes and translates poetry. Sometimes he tries his hand at essays and stories. In 2011 the University of Santo Tomas Publishing House in Manila released BAHA-BAHAGDANG KARUPUKAN (poems in Filipino) and ALIEN TO ANY SKIN (poems in English). The same publisher released his most recent poetry collections SOUND BEFORE WATER and KALMOT NG PUSA SA TAGILIRAN. In 2015 a new poetry collection in English, A THOUSAND EYES was released. His first collection of short stories in Filipino, SANGA SA BASANG LUPA, was released in 2016. UK publisher The Onslaught Press launches his latest poetry collection, WINGS OF SMOKE, worldwide in February 2017. View all posts by matangmanok

Leave a Reply

