Be Stubborn

I am currently reading over a hundred pages of prose (in Filipino) – not sure I can say “short stories” yet – which I wrote between 1987 and 1994. I am deciding whether to submit the manuscript to my publisher or not. It is very difficult to be completely objective, and worse if it is regarding your own work. I had practically forgotten how each piece began and ended, but of the ones I have so far read I felt like I could be stuck on an island and it wouldn’t matter as long as the words kept flowing. Am I perhaps deluding myself?

So here’s the thing. I need another pair of eyes to read the stuff and either give me a push or lead me to the closest garbage bin. I’m still proofreading the second half of the manuscript, but hopefully in two days it will be cleaner. Any takers?

About matangmanok

Jim Pascual Agustin writes and translates poetry. Sometimes he tries his hand at essays and stories. In 2011 the University of Santo Tomas Publishing House in Manila released BAHA-BAHAGDANG KARUPUKAN (poems in Filipino) and ALIEN TO ANY SKIN (poems in English). The same publisher released his most recent poetry collections SOUND BEFORE WATER and KALMOT NG PUSA SA TAGILIRAN. In 2015 a new poetry collection in English, A THOUSAND EYES was released. His first collection of short stories in Filipino, SANGA SA BASANG LUPA, was released in 2016. UK publisher The Onslaught Press launches his latest poetry collection, WINGS OF SMOKE, worldwide in February 2017. View all posts by matangmanok

2 responses to “Be Stubborn

  • Dawn Copley-Lindsey

    Jim – I would be so honored to be able to read your stories ! !! You know I taught English Lit. and Writing for 14 yrs. I am also one of your biggest fans. Would you consider letting me read at least a few stories? Your dear friend, Dawn. By theway how is your mom doing? I pray she is well. Because my mom can’t read she sits for long times in our swing and sings to our dog ! She is such a loving person. Smiles, prayers, and happiness , Dawn Copley-Lindsey your goodreads friend

    • matangmanok

      Dawn,

      So kind of you. Sorry it took me a while to respond. Once I find time to translate the stories – or at least one – I’ll let you read them/it. But I can’t say when. Thank you for the great show of support.

      Hope all is well your side of the world.

      Jim

Leave a Reply

