A poem appears on Cha: an Asian literary journal June 2015 issue

I wonder if the novelty of digital photo frames will pass. Sure, it’s one way of displaying the countless photos we end up taking every day because of the ease of technology. At the same time, though, we move one more step away from what is tangible. Fingertips were never designed to only touch glass… and soon air.

I have a very personal poem that has found a home in Cha: an Asian Literary Journal. Thank you to Jenna Le and Tammy Ho.

Please visit the site and leave a comment. Any show of support goes a long way to those who make room for others to share their work. HERE is the link to my poem, “Photographs Under Plastic Sheets.”

I hope to have it one day as part of my manuscript in progress called HOW TO MAKE A SALAGUBANG HELICOPTER.

random caspian photo in box

What’s the cat photo for? Nothing. Just to “cat”ch your attention. 😛

About matangmanok

Jim Pascual Agustin writes and translates poetry. Sometimes he tries his hand at essays and stories. In 2011 the University of Santo Tomas Publishing House in Manila released BAHA-BAHAGDANG KARUPUKAN (poems in Filipino) and ALIEN TO ANY SKIN (poems in English). The same publisher released his most recent poetry collections SOUND BEFORE WATER and KALMOT NG PUSA SA TAGILIRAN. In 2015 a new poetry collection in English, A THOUSAND EYES was released. His first collection of short stories in Filipino, SANGA SA BASANG LUPA, was released in 2016. UK publisher The Onslaught Press launches his latest poetry collection, WINGS OF SMOKE, worldwide in February 2017. View all posts by matangmanok

4 responses to “A poem appears on Cha: an Asian literary journal June 2015 issue

  • Linda E.H.

    lovely poem

    I have ditigal photos and a Kindle but still print out pictures and have paperback books. Technology is great but sometimes I still want to hold something solid in my hands, turn pages, frame something to hang on a wall.

    • matangmanok

      Thank you, Linda, for taking time to read and respond. Yes, technology is great. It is also easy to forget that so many still do not have access to what we often take for granted. That’s another point altogether, of course. I don’t think I can let go of my paperbacks. 🙂 Recently I misplaced my copy of John Berger’s poetry book and I know I will feel unsettled until I find it again.

Leave a Reply

