Some Sad, Some Gud, and a Tangled Bank

Mouse on one-armed mommy or daddy cat (or leopard?) with kitten

Random thoughts and news.

What happens when you go through a few days with little sleep. You get two hotdogs from the fridge, place them on a plate in front of the microwave, open the microwave door, slam it shut and turn the knob; the machine pings and you flip the door open to find nothing in there. Behold, the two hotdogs are still cold on the plate right before your eyes. Fleeting reminder of how my wife and I pretty much functioned in the first few months when our kids were born. Thus we vowed never again.

-o-

Today I got word of some sad news from my family back home.  My eldest sister’s husband, George, suffered a heart attack on Saturday and has been in intensive care since. I phoned my sister but I could hardly say anything to her. I felt useless. Her anguish tore right through the static on the line.

-o-

I bumped into a warm online review of the latest issue of GUD Magazine, Issue 4. The blog is called The Bowery Birds Press by John Washington. My poem “Ghosts of Sweaty Air” gets a favorable mention (yippeee!).  Here is the link to the review.

-o-

Over the weekend I received a welcome letter from an Australian publisher of an anthology called The Tangled Bank. My poem “Creatures of Lava Tubes” was accepted for inclusion. Before the letter came I had been receiving nothing but rejection slips.  Aaargh. Those and a lack of time to do some writing had driven me down muddy roads of the mind.

About matangmanok

Jim Pascual Agustin writes and translates poetry. Sometimes he tries his hand at essays and stories. In 2011 the University of Santo Tomas Publishing House in Manila released BAHA-BAHAGDANG KARUPUKAN (poems in Filipino) and ALIEN TO ANY SKIN (poems in English). The same publisher released his most recent poetry collections SOUND BEFORE WATER and KALMOT NG PUSA SA TAGILIRAN. In 2015 a new poetry collection in English, A THOUSAND EYES was released. His first collection of short stories in Filipino, SANGA SA BASANG LUPA, was released in 2016. UK publisher The Onslaught Press launches his latest poetry collection, WINGS OF SMOKE, worldwide in February 2017. View all posts by matangmanok

2 responses to “Some Sad, Some Gud, and a Tangled Bank

  • Jie-Shi

    It is sad what is happening to your family, but hopefully 2010 will be a better year well for us all. And congrats on the news from Australia!! Chat soon hey.

    • matangmanok

      Thanks Jie-Shi,

      My brother-in-law is back at home and seems to be doing ok.

      The news about that anthology came at a good time for me. I do hope better days are ahead.

      Keep in touch bro.

Leave a Reply

